My Influence

When I was little we were asked what we wanted to be when we grew up.  While many of my classmates gave answers like Basketball player or Singer I said my dad. When asked who my role model is; it will be my father. He has been my drive for success since I was young. Growing up my dad gave me advice and lessons on how a man should be. He gave me a visual of what a good husband is. He was tough on me, I mean tough tough on me. He pushed me to be better than I was the day before. AS any adolescent I ignored my dad, took his warnings and lessons as just old people thinking. The more I matured and made mistakes the more I realized my dad was on to something. He taught me to respect authority and humble myself when I am dealing with people young and old. He taught me to not be a statistic. My dad came from nothing to something. He wants me to come from something to everything. Every dream I have he has supported and as they have changed he has never changed. I never understood why he pushed me so hard and why I got the tough love versus my little sister. He told me that he has to prepare me for life and prepare me for what a man has to carry on his shoulders. He gave me tough skin and gave me my drive to be success because you don’t want to let down your role model.

Leave a Reply

